Theanthropism Strike 1

I am in the attic, at home in Cyprus and I’m browsing through the four dictionaries that I have in front of me. The Cambridge Advanced Learners Dictionary, The Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus and even The Oxford School Dictionary tell me that there is nothing there..I decide to go Greek to find the origins of the word. I open Tegopoulos’ and Fitrakis’ Greek Dictionary:

Θεἀνθρωπος: (ο) ουσ. [<Θεάνθρωπος < θεός + άνθρωπος] Θεὀς ,μαζἰ και ἀνθρωπος || επωνυμἰα του Χριστοὐ.

Θεανθρωπισμὀς: (ο) ουσ. [<θεἀνθρωπος] Η απὀδοση Θεικών ιδιοτήτων σε άνθρωπο ή αντίστροφα.

In English, this would translate to:

Theanthropist: (Noun) [God + Man] God with Man || The title of Christ.

Theanthropism: The attribution of divine characteristics to man or vice versa.

Leave a comment